Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Jones shortlisted

21 March 2013

City skipper Gary Jones has been shortlisted for the npower League 2 Player of the Year award.

Jones had been selected alongside Exeter City's Jamie Cureton and Port Vale's Tom Pope for the award which will be handed out at the Football League's annual awards evening this coming Sunday (24 March 2013).

The Bantams midfielder has been placed in the running for this prestigious award after being chosen by the managers of all of City's League 2 rivals as one of the best performers in the division so far this season.

The npower League 2 Player of the Year Award will be just one of the17awards that will be handed out this year, with the winners being announced at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London this Sunda

As mentioned, the shortlists for the npower Players of the Year were drawn up based on votes from the managers in the respective divisions. A list of the ‘top 10’ players in each division based on the managers’ votes will be released after The Football League Awards night.  

The full shortlists, including that for the Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year are:

npower Championship Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

Thomas Ince – Blackpool

Glenn Murray – Crystal Palace

Matěj Vydra – Watford


npower League 1 Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

Leon Clarke – Coventry City

Alan Judge – Notts County

Matt Ritchie – AFC Bournemouth


npower League 2 Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

Jamie Cureton – Exeter City               

   Gary Jones – Bradford City

Tom Pope – Port Vale


Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year

Thomas Ince – Blackpool

Matěj Vydra – Watford

Wilfried Zaha     Crystal Palace

Richard Heaselgrave, Chief Commercial Officer at The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards are a great way to celebrate the work that goes on behind the scenes at each club, as well as the action that has taken place on the pitch each week.


“To make these shortlists is a real achievement. I would like to wish all those nominated the best of luck and we look forward to announcing the winners on the evening.”

Clubs also have an opportunity to taste success on the evening with a number of other awards on the night including; Capital One ‘Credit to the Game’ Award, PFA Player in the Community, LFE Apprentice of the Year Family Club of the Year, Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year, Perform Best Use of Digital and the Tokio Marine Unsung Hero Award.


Additional shortlists announced this week include:


Mitre Goal of the Year:

Mark Hudson – Cardiff City (v Derby County)

Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (v Cheltenham Town)

Sam Byram – Leeds United (v Oxford United)

Josh Wright – Millwall (v Burnley) 

Simon Cox Nottingham – Nottingham Forest (v Birmingham City)


npower Fan of the Year

(decided by a panel of industry experts)

Pat Raybould – Coventry City

Nick Webster – Derby County

Neil Le Milliere – Exeter City


To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please


Winners on the night will be tweeted from the official @football_league Twitter account, using the #FLAwards hashtag .

Advertisement block