Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Three Bantams in League 2 top ten

28 March 2013

The Football League have revealed this (Thursday) afternoon that THREE City players have been voted into the list of top ten performers for League 2 this season - more than any other team in the division.

Gary Jones, who was shortlisted for the overall title of League 2 Player of the Year, has been selected as the third best player of the 2012/2013 season, while team-mate Nahki Wells comes in just behind in fourth place.

Rounding off City's trio of top-ten stars, James Hanson has been placed in ninth.

Port Vale's Tom Pope heads the list after winning the npower League 2 Player of the Year award at The Football League's end of the season awards evening last Sunday.

Pope's fellow Port Vale attacker Jennison Myrie-Williams also makes the list to give Micky Adams' men two representatives, but no other club has as many as City's three players in the League 2 top ten.

The top ten list was drawn up using the votes submitted by all League 2 managers.

  n the lead-up to The Football League awards evening last week, managers from the npower Championship, npower League 1 and npower League 2 were asked to name the best five players in their division (excluding those at their own club).Basically, i

Along with League 2, The Football League can now reveal which players have caught their eye this season across all three divisions.
npower Championship:


1       Matej Vydra                         Watford

2       Glenn Murray                      Crystal Palace

3       Thomas Ince                       Blackpool

4       Wilfried Zaha                      Crystal Palace

5       Wes Morgan                        Leicester City

6       Chris Wood                          Leicester City

7       Craig Bellamy                      Cardiff City

8       Mark Hudson                       Cardiff City

9       Peter Whittingham            Cardiff City

10     Liam Bridcutt                      Brighton & Hove Albion                                                              

npower League 1:


1       Matt Ritchie                        AFC Bournemouth

2       Alan Judge                          Notts County

3       Leon Clarke                         Coventry City

4       Luke Murphy                       Crewe Alexandra

5       Harry Maguire                     Sheffield United

6       Will Grigg                            Walsall

7       Harry Arter                          AFC Bournemouth

8       Paddy Madden                     Yeovil Town

9       Carl Baker                           Coventry City

10     Clayton Donaldson             Brentford 


npower League 2:


1       Tom Pope                            Port Vale

2       Jamie Cureton                    Exeter City

3       Gary Jones                          Bradford City

4       Nahki Wells                         Bradford City

5       Jennison Myrie-Williams   Port Vale

6       Jacques Maghoma              Burton Albion

7       Britt Assombalonga            Southend United

8       Chris Hackett                      Northampton Town

9       James Hanson                    Bradford City

10     Adam Barrett                      Gillingham


Advertisement block