Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

FL awards - full list of winners

25 March 2013

Obviously our very own Phil Parkinson was honoured with an award this Sunday evening, but who else won what at The Football League Awards 2013?

the annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs.The Football League Awards 2013,The Football League has announced the full list of winners for


A total of 34 clubs were shortlisted for this season’s Awards with the coveted npower Player of the Year Awards going to Matej Vydra (npower Championship), Matt Ritchie (npower League 1) and Tom Pope, who beat City skipper Gary Jones to the League 2 title.

The winners were voted for by managers from every club in their division. Thomas Ince also picked up the Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year Award.


Former Leicester City, Nottingham Forest, Southampton and England goalkeeper Pater Shilton OBE was honoured with the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award.


The winners of all 17 Awards were announced at the gala ceremony in front of over 600 guests at The Brewery, London on Sunday evening (please see full list of winners below).


The judges for the Football League Awards 2013 comprised of influential and respected representatives from the media, sponsors and The Football League, alongside industry experts for the various categories. 


Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight’s winners and all those who were nominated.”


The full list of Award winners is shown below:


Award Winners 2013:


npower Championship Player of the Year

Matej Vydra – Watford


npower League 1 Player of the Year

Matt Ritchie – AFC Wimbledon


npower League 2 Player of the Year

Tom Pope – Port Vale


Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year

Thomas Ince - Blackpool


Contribution to League Football

Peter Shilton OBE


Mitre Goal of the Year

Simon Cox – Nottingham Forest


Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement

Phil Parkinson – Bradford City


npower Fan of the Year

Neil Le Milliere – Exeter City


Nick Webster – Derby County

League 1

Pat Raybould – Coventry City


LFE Apprentice of the Year - Championship

Dimitar Evtimov – Nottingham Forest


LFE Apprentice of the Year - League 1

Luke James – Hartlepool United


LFE Apprentice of the Year - League 2

George Sykes – Barnet


The Football League Family Club of the Year

Cardiff City

League 1 Winner

AFC Bournemouth

League 2 Winner

Plymouth Argyle


Tokio Marine Unsung Hero

Billy Neil – Millwall

Highly Commended

John Harriss – AFC Bournemouth

Peter Rhoades-Brown – Oxford United


Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year

Charlton Athletic

Regional Winners

South West – Cardiff City Community Foundation

South East – Charlton Athletic Community Trust

Midlands – Derby County Community Trust

North East – Huddersfield Town Football in the Community

North West – Tranmere Rovers in the Community


PFA Player in the Community

Inigo Calderon – Brighton & Hove Albion


Perform Best Use of Digital

Swindon Town – STFC Christmas ADVENTure


Capital One Credit to the Game

Graham Alexander


To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please

Advertisement block