Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Pick our Mitre Goal of the Year!

8 February 2013

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2012 .and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination


We can nominate one goal from anyFootball League competition in the 2012 calendar year, to include goals scored in the npower Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy. want fans to help us decide our club nomination by simply e-mailing their choice through to

All entries must have the name of the player who scored the goal and details of the game that it was scored in - for example, James Hanson - Morecambe (H) 18 September 2012.

The closing date for entries is this Sunday 10 February 2013.


Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2013.  The winner will be decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 24March 2013. 


Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2010), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2009), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2008), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2007) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2006).


.www.FLAwards.comTo find out more about The Football League Awards please visit


Advertisement block